Senior Tri State was the brainchild of Pam Spikes of Arkansas, Sheila Haynes of Mississippi and Mary Edwards and Sandra Smith of Louisiana, who got together in the winter of 2010 and planned it. They patterned it after the Junior Tri State, which was begun in 2005. The thinking was to offer a competition for senior players to be a part of the team concept.

The inaugural event was held at Beau Pre in Natchez and was won by Arkansas. Louisiana hosted the next year at Black Bear in Delhi with Mississippi beating Arkansas in the last match of the day. Since then Arkansas has reeled off 4 straight wins, including 2015, which was held in Hot Springs. 

Current co-captains Julie Harrison and Paula Karam have worked to establish criteria for the Senior Tri-State team:  

1. Players must be 50 years or older on the first day of the Tri-State Senior Championship.
2.USGA Handicap Index not to exceed 12.4.
3.Players must participate in an LWGA Championship every two years. (Amateur, Mid-Amateur, Senior or Four-Ball)
4.Top three players and ties in the LWGA Senior Amateur will be automatically included.
5.Six players, based on overall performance in Amateur, Mid-Amateur and Senior Championships will be chosen.                          Consideration will also be given to performance in Regional (i.e. WSGA Senior) and National Championships.
6.Two players will be included based on special qualifying round or at the discretion of the Captains.

Adopted by LWGA Board of Directors 12/12/15
Senior Tri-State Team
Home  Board  Events  Leaderboard  Juniors  State TeamsContact UsLinksScholarships

Copyright © 2011 Louisiana Women's' Golf Association. All Rights Reserved.
HomeBoardEventsLeaderboardJuniorsState TeamsContact UsLinks